Contempt Petition filed against Odisha Lokayukta

Aug12,2021 #Ajit Kumar Singh #contempt
Justice Ajit Kumar Singh contempt Orrisa High Court Lokayukta

Shivangi Prakash

Published on: August 12, 2021, at 10:21 IST

Odisha MLA Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy filed a contempt petition in the Orissa High Court against Odisha Lokayukta Justice (Retd) Ajit Kumar Singh for allegedly forging and fabricating two High Court rulings concerning a politician.

Panigrahy and his counsel Pitambar Acharya informed a press conference that a contempt petition was also filed against State Lokayukta Secretary Manas Ranjan Tripathy.

They stated that the Lokayukta had filed a Special Leave Petition (SLP) in the Supreme Court in May of this year, challenging two High Court rulings issued in February and April.

On the basis of a complaint, the Odisha Lokayukta directed the Directorate of Vigilance to investigate, Panigrahy for accumulating disproportionate assets in December of last year

Panigrahy later appealed to the Orissa High Court, which put aside the Lokayukta’s order. The Court also ordered the Lokayukta’s Inquiry Wing to conduct an investigation into Panigrahy.

However, the Lokayukta went back to the High Court with a review writ petition, requesting that the Court reconsider its previous decision.

The misrepresentation of a putative High Court ruling that formed the foundation of the SLP, according to Acharya, demonstrated, “Judicial impropriety of the highest order.”

“A six-page order of the High Court submitted with the SLP seems to be non-existent. It is a fraud committed by the Lokayukta,” Acharya alleged.

The High Court, in May this year, dismissed the review petition and stated, “The Lokayukta was not an aggrieved party in the case and hence, the review petition is also dismissed.”

Panigrahy was thrown out of the BJD last year after being accused of Anti-people acts.

Also Read: What Constitutes a Contempt of Court?

Related Post