Minister of Minority Affairs

NAME – Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi

PROFESSION- Politician

BORN – 15th October 1957

PLACE OF BIRTH – Bhaddari village, Allahabad (now Prayagraj), Uttar Pradesh.

FATHER’S NAME – Late Akhtarul Hassan Naqvi

MOTHER’S NAME – Late Sakina Begum

SPOUSE – Seema Naqvi

SIBLINGS – 2 (1 Sister and 1 Brother)

CHILDREN – 1 (Son)

EDUCATION – B.A.(Hons.), Post Graduate in Mass Communication

POLITICAL PARTY – Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)




Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi is the current Minister of Minority Affairs. He is a politician belonging to the Bharatiya Janta Party. 

BACKGROUND– Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi was born and brought up in an ordinary family to Late Akhtarul Hassan Naqvi and Late Sakina Begum. He married Seema Naqvi in 1983 and they have a son.

UPBRINGING & EDUCATION– Mr. Naqvi is post graduate in Mass communication.

WALK OF LIFE– He took part in Sampoorna Kranti during the emergency of 1975 and he was jailed under the Maintenance of Internal Security Act (MISA) ad Defence of India Rules (DIR) at the age of 17. In the year 1980, he contested for the legislative assembly of Uttar Pradesh but lost. The same year he contested in the Lok Sabha elections from the Ayodhya constituency.

He got elected to the Lok Sabha in the year 1998 and in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government he served as Minister of State for Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. He contested two assembly elections in the year 1991 and 1993 and three Lok Sabha elections in the years 1998, 1999, and 2003.

He has been elected to the Rajya Sabha in the years 2002, 2010 and, 2016. In the year 2014 in the Narendra Modi government, he became Minister of State for Minority Affairs and Parliamentary Affairs.

In the year 2019 again, he was given the ministry of Minority Affairs. Mr. Naqvi was also National General Secretary, National Vice President, and National Spokesperson of Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP), and National Vice President of Bharatiya Janta Party’s (BJP) youth wing Bharatiya Janta Yuva Morcha.

MAJOR INITIATIVES TAKEN– He took major initiatives and brought reforms in Direct To Home (DTH) and was given industry status to the Indian Film Industry.


978 – Allahabad District Vice President and General Secretary of Yuva Janta, The youth wing of Janta Party.

1979 – Member (Elected), State Executive of Uttar Pradesh Yuva Janta.

1982 – Promoted as General Secretary of Uttar Pradesh Yuva Janta.

1992 – National Vice-President of the youth wing of BJP, Bharatiya Janta Yuva Morcha.

1998-99 – Member, Twelfth Lok Sabha. Minister of State in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting with the additional charge of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs

2000 – National Secretary of Bharatiya Janata Party.

2001-2003 Elected Vice-Chairman, Centre for Cultural Resources and Training (CCRT), Ministry of Culture, Government of India Nov.

2002 – Elected to Rajya Sabha

2003– Member Committee

2010- Member Committee

2014 November – Union Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs & Minority Affairs, Government of India.

2016 to July 2016– was MP of Rajya Sabha for Uttar Pradesh. July 2016- MP of Rajya Sabha for Jharkhand.

2019 to present- Union Minister of State for Minority Affairs.


Related Post