N. BIREN SINGH - law insider

Published on : September 13, 2021 at 20:32 IST

Chief Minister of Manipur

NAME – Nongthombam Biren Singh

PROFESSION – Politician

BORN – 01/01/1961

PLACE OF BIRTH – Imphal, Manipur

FATHER’S NAME – N. Khunjao Singh


SPOUSE – Hiyainu Devi




POLITICAL AFFILIATIONS/PARTY- Bharatiya Janta Party (2017-present)

National Democratic Alliance (2017-present)

Indian National Congress (2004-2016)

Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party (2002-2004)

OFFICIAL WEBSITEChief Minister Manipur

REMARKABLE ACHIEVEMENT- First ever BJP Chief Minister in Manipur.

AWARDS – N. Biren Singh was awarded with Champions of Change Award in 2018 for his exceptional work for the nation. The award was conferred by the Vice-President of India Sri. Venkaiah Naidu at Vigyan Bhavan New Delhi.

BACKGROUND – Nongthombam Biren Singh is an Indian politician who is currently the Chief Minister of Manipur and a former footballer and journalist. He began his career as a footballer and got recruited in the Border Security Force (BSF) playing for its team in domestic competitions. He resigned from the BSF and turned to journalism. Despite having had no formal training and experience, he began the vernacular daily Naharolgi Thoudang in 1992 and worked as the editor till 2001.

Nongthombam Biren Singh is the son of and was born in 1975. He is married to Hiyainu Devi. His favorite sport is football. 

MAJOR INITIATIVES– Manipur government is keen to deal with the drug menace in the state. In 2018, November 3, Chief Minister Shri Nongthombam Biren Singh has declared ‘War On Drugs’.


2002 –MLA of Democratic Revolutionary Peoples Party from Heingang Constituency

2003 – Minister of State of Vigilance in the Manipur state Government. Forest & Environment Minister (Ind. Charge) and Chairman of Manipur Pollution Control Board.

2007 –MLA for 2nd term. Minister of Irrigation & Flood Control and Youth Affairs & Sports and Consumer Affairs & Public Distribution (CAF & PD) in the State Government.

2012 -Retained his Assembly seat for the third consecutive term.

2016 – Resigned from the Manipur Legislative Assembly and the Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee. Joined BJP and later became the Spokesperson and Co-convener of the Election Management Committee of BJP Manipur Pradesh.

2017 – Won Manipur Legislative Assembly Election from Heingang Assembly Constituency for 4th time. Sworn in as Chief Minister of Manipur.


Related Post