1. Name: Nitish Kumar

2. Born: 1st March, 1951

3. Designation: MLC, Chief Minister of Bihar

4. Alma Mater: National Institute of Technology, Patna

5. Occupation: Politician

6. Political Party: Janata Dal United

7. Family and Education:

Nitish Kumar is current Chief Minister of Bihar. He was born in Bakhtiarpur which is in Bihar on 1st March 1951. His Father, was an Ayurvedic practitioner named Kaviraj Ram Lakhan Singh and his mother was Parmeshwari Devi. In 1972, he earned an engineering degree from National Institute of Technology, Patna and joined the Bihar State Electricity Board.

8. Political Career:

Coming to his political career, he belongs to a socialist class of politicians. He joined the Janata party headed by Satyendra Narain Sinha after participating in movement from 1974 and 1977 which is led by Jayaprakash Narayanan.

He acted as the Union Minister for Railways, Minister for Surface Transport and the Minister for Agriculture in the year 1998-99 when Atal Bihari Vajpayee was heading the NDA government. In 1999, he resigned as the railway minister because of the Gaisal train Accident as a responsibility. While he was in service, he did many reforms like online ticket booking in 2002. And also introduced the Tatkal scheme and opened many ticket booking counters. After that he again joined as the Minister for Agriculture and Minister of Railways in the Union Cabinet from 2001-2004. In 2004 he contested for Loksabha elections from two constituencies. He won from Nalanda and lost from Barh.

Nitish Kumar was elected as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the first time in 2000. He resigned as both the parties NDA and Janata Dal didn’t reached the majority mark. Janata Dal started bicycle and meal programs which resulted for more girl students into schools and reduction in the number of dropouts. In 2010, he again became Chief Minister of Bihar succeeding Bharatiya Janata Party. This time they witnessed the high participation of women and young voters and declared as the fairest Election.

In 2014, he resigned, as the party won only two seats out of twenty. Jitan Ram Manjhi succeeded him as Nitish Kumar resigned by taking as the moral responsibility of his party’s poor performance in the election.

He again took over as Chief Minister in the year 2015 by winning the toughest elections in Bihar till date. JDU, RJD and Congress formed the Mahagathbandhan, a grand alliance against BJP in Bihar. The Grand Alliance won the election over the BJP and its allies as the largest party with 80 seats with JDU in the 2nd place.

As a record for the 5th time, he became the Chief Minister in the year 2015. He, as Member of the Legislative Council also served as the Minister of general administration, Home, Cabinet Secretariat, Vigilance, Election, Information and Public Relations, etc.

Legal Background