Law Insider India

Legal News, Current Trends and Legal Insight | Supreme Court of India and High Courts

Supreme Court Collegium recommends 12 additional permanent judges for High Courts

2 min read

Akanksha Singh-

Published on: September 9, 2021, at 16:33 IST

Following the landmark decision to recommend 68 names at once in 12 High Courts, the Supreme Court Collegium headed by Chief Justice of India (CJI) NV Ramana has approved the names of 10 additional judges of Karnataka High Court and two additional judges of Kerala High Court for appointment as permanent judges of these courts.

The term of office as an additional judge after promotion to a High Court Bench is before the collegium recommends permanent justice.

The apex court has issued three separate statements regarding the recommendations made to the Centre by the collegium. The past few weeks started on a historic note, with the collegium recommending nine judges to be sent to the Supreme Court at a time out of which Justice BV Nagarathna, is set to become India’s first woman CJI in 2027.

The collegium is pushing hard to fill the vacant posts. The 25 High Courts, which have more than 465 vacancies, have a steady prospect of recommending names to fill up the vacancies. This is more than 41% of the total sanctioned judicial strength of 1098 in High Courts.

“I hope the government will ensure that the names are cleared at the earliest just the way the nine names were cleared for the apex court. It is an ongoing process. We hope to live up to the herculean challenge of filling nearly 41 percent vacancies existing in all the high courts,” said Justice Ramana to achieve this objective and ensure justice for all, he has given a clear message to the government not to sit on the recommendations of the collegium.

Further the name of additional judges recommended for permanent judges in the Karnataka High Court include Justices Maralur Indrakumar Arun, Engalguppe Sitaramayya Indresh, Ravi Venkappa Hosmani, Savanur Vishwajit Shetty, Shivshankar Amarnavar, M. Ganeshaiah Uma, Vedavyasachar Sreeshananda, Hanchte Sanjeevakumar, Padmaraj Nemchandra Desai. P Krishna Bhat.

The Collegium has also recommended Justices M.R. Anitha and K. Nair Haripal as permanent judges in Kerala High Court.

Also Read: PNB Scam: PMLA Court revokes all Warrants against Mainak Mehta