Law Insider India

Legal News, Current Trends and Legal Insight | Supreme Court of India and High Courts

SC’s E-Committee Constitutes 3-Member Panel to Develop & Implement Uniform Citation for Apex Court Judgments

1 min read
Gavel Law Insider

Tanisha Rana

Published on: November 7, 2022 at 20:32 IST

A three-member panel of High Court judges has been constituted by the Supreme Court E-Committee, which is chaired by Justice DY Chandrachud, to develop and implement an uniform and unique citation for judgments from the Supreme Court.

Justice Rajiv Shakdher of the Delhi High Court, Justice Suraj Govindaraj of the Karnataka High Court, and Justice Raja Vijayaraghavan of the Kerala High Court make up the three-member panel.

The duty of creating an independent citation system that can scale it up has been given to the committee.

The committee will soon solicit opinions and recommendations from stakeholders.

For all judgments posted on the Delhi High Court’s official website, a neutral citation system was recently adopted.

Recently, the Kerala High Court made the decision to adopt a Unique Neutral Citation Number for all of its rulings and decisions issued since 1949.