Chaini Parwani –

Published On: October 14, 2021 at 09:55 IST

The Department of Justice in the Law Ministry on Wednesday informed the appointment of 14 new Judges to the Telangana, Orissa and Kerala High Courts.

The new Judges include twelve Judicial Officers, one Advocate and a member of the Income Tax Appellate Tribunal.

Among them seven Judges were appointed to the Telangana High Court, four were appointed to the Kerala High Court and three new Judges in the Orissa High Court.

The Department of Justice posted on their Twitter Account with the list of new appointments: “In exercise of the power conferred under the Constitution of India, Hon’ble President of India, in consultation with Hon’ble Chief Justice of India, is pleased to appoint the following Advocates and JOs as Judges of the following High Court.”

The appointments included a number of women Judges, P. Madhavi Devi a ITAT member, P. Sree Sudha, Dr. C. Sumalatha and Dr. G. Radha Rani were appointed at the Telengana High Court.

All the appointments are part of the Supreme Court Collegium’s directions that had handled over 100 names between August 8 and September 1, and in due course highlighted 68 names.

Further additional names were included later in September as the Collegium had several meetings to clear the backlog in Judicial vacancies.

Click here to read the list of new Judges

Also Read: Justice Akil Kureshi takes oath as new Chief Justice of Rajasthan HC

Justice Rajesh Bindal becomes Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court

Related Post