Swarna Shukla –

Published On: November 23, 2021 at 22:00 IST

Uttar Pradesh is India’s largest state, with a population of over 20 million people. Prayagraj, the State’s Judicial capital, is home to the Allahabad High Court. It is one of India’s oldest High Courts, having been founded in Agra in 1866. It was later relocated to its current location in Prayagraj in 1869.

A single state usually has only one High Court, though a few small states may have more than one. For large states with a large population, a High Court Bench is established in various parts to make it more convenient for the general public. Even smaller states that border a larger state get a seat on the latter’s Bench.

After the Country’s independence, in 1948 the Lucknow Bench of the Allahabad High Court was established to provide Justice to ordinary citizens. Initially, the Lucknow Bench was given jurisdiction over 12 districts, including Lucknow, Ayodhya, Sultanpur, Rae Bareli, Pratapgarh, Barabanki, Gonda, Bahraich, Sitapur, Kheri, Hardoi, and Unnao. Later, Ambedkar Nagar and Amethi were added to the Lucknow Bench’s jurisdiction.

Thus, the Allahabad High Court, with its main seat in Prayagraj, has extensive jurisdiction over 61 districts. There have been numerous requests for another Allahabad High Court Bench. One obvious example is Agra, which was left without its own High Court. Throughout the country’s seventy years of independence, there have been numerous demands for a High Court in Agra.

Now, Union Law Minister Kiran Rijiju has stated that the Central Government is considering establishing a Court in Agra. Litigants from Western Uttar Pradesh will benefit the most from this establishment, as they are frequently unable to approach the High Court due to travel expenses. However, such a move requires the Judiciary’s permission.

Related Post