Centre approves Elevation of 9 Judges to Supreme Court, 3 Women on list

judges Law Insider
judges Law Insider

Greeva Garg –

Published on August 26, 2021, at 09:20 IST

The Central Government has approved the elevation of 9 Judges to the Supreme Court upon the recommendations of Supreme Court Collegium, 3 women on the list.

The names of the Judges have been sent to the President of India Ram Nath Kovind, for issuing the warrant of appointments.

All the new Judges, after the President will formally conduct their appointments, will be sworn in once.

Among the nine Judges, BV Nagarathna, a Judge at Karnataka High Court is recommended to be the first woman Chief Justice of India in 2027, marking her name in the country’s judicial history.

The nine names for elevation include 8 High Court Judges of different States and 1 lawyer from the Supreme Court Bar.

The list for the elevation of Judges includes – Karnataka High Court Chief Justice AS Oka; Telangana Chief Justice Hima Kohli; Gujarat High Court Chief Justice Vikram Nath; Sikkim Chief Justice JK Maheshwari; Kerala High Court Judge Justice CT Ravikumar; Justice BV Nagarathna of the Karnataka High Court; Madras High Court Judge Justice MM Sundresh; Gujarat High Court Judge Justice Bela M Trivedi; and Senior Advocate PS Narasimha.

The sanctioned strength of the Supreme Court is 34, with the current appointed strength of 24. After the appointment of 9 new Judges in the Apex Court, only one vacancy will be left.

Also Read: Why appointment of Judges is delayed in India?

Related Post