Chief Minister of Odisha

NAME – Naveen Bijayananda Patnaik

PROFESSION– Politician and Author

BORN – 16th October 1946

PLACE OF BIRTH – Cuttack, Odisha

FATHER’S NAME – Late Bijayananda(Biju) Patnaik (Former Chief Minister of Odisha)

MOTHER’S NAME– Gyan Patnaik


SIBLINGS -2(1 brother and 1 sister)


EDUCATION– Graduate from Kirori Mal College (Delhi University).




Hero to Animals Award- 2020 by People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA).

CSI E-Ratna Award– 2020 by Computer Society of India.

FIH President’s Award-2018 by International Hockey Federation.

Ideal Chief Minister-2018 by 8th Indian Students Parliament and was presented by former President of India Smt. Pratibha Patil. 

Best Administrator in India-2017 by Outlook India Speak Out Awards 2017 and was presented by former President of India Shri. Pranab Mukherjee.

United Nations Award 2013- By United Nations United Nations (UN) for an effort to evacuate nearly a million people ahead of Cyclone Phailin, which made landfall on coastal Odisha in October 2013.

Naveen Patnaik is the 14th and current Chief Minister of Odisha. He is a member of Biju Janata Dal.

BACKGROUND- Naveen Patnaik was born in a political family. His father Biju Patnaik was former Chief Minister of Odisha and his mother Gyan Patnaik was a pilot, she was the first Indian lady to get a commercial pilot’s license. He has an elder brother Prem Patnaik an industrialist and an elder sister Gita Mehta who is a writer and documentary filmmaker.

UPBRINGING & EDUCATION- Naveen has done his schooling from Welham Boys’ School in Dehradun, and then went to The Doon School, Dehradun. And he’s a graduate in Bachelor of Arts from Kirori Mal College, Delhi University.

WALK OF LIFE- He lived mostly in the United States. And came back shortly before his fathers’ death in April 1977. And started his political career in June he won his father’s vacant seat from the Janta Dal party for the Lok Sabha elections.

He formed the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) party in December 1997 after Janata Dal (JD) refused to join the coalition with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in 1998. Biju won the elections with the coalition of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

In 2000 Biju Janata Dal (BJD) won the Odisha state legislative assembly with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and become the Chief Minister of Odisha. In 2004 the Biju Janata Dal (BJD)- Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance won and became the Chief Minister of Odisha for the second time.

Biju Janata Dal (BJD) ran into the 2009 assembly elections independently and won the elections. In 2014 as well as in 2019 he won the elections single-handedly. In 2019 Patnaik became Odisha’s longest-serving chief minister.

MAJOR INITIATIVES TAKEN- In his first tenure in office, he attempted to establish a transparent and corruption-free administration. During the process, he had to act against a corrupt bureaucracy, and also some senior leaders of Biju Janata Dal(BJD) had been implicated in corruption.

Odisha was in poverty and high infant mortality rate under his leadership the economy of the state is growing steadily, record reduction in poverty, and increase in farmers income. And under his leadership, Odisha has become the sports capital.


1997 to 2000- Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha

1998- Founder President, Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

1998 to 2000- Minister of Steel and Mines

2000- Chief Minister of Odisha

2004- Chief Minister of Odisha

2009- Chief Minister of Odisha

2014- Chief Minister of Odisha

2019- Chief Minister of Odisha.


A Desert Kingdom-The Rajputs of Bikaner.

The Garden of Life- An Introduction to the Healing Plants of India.

A Second Paradise- Indian Courtly Life 1590–1947.

CONTROVERSIES- There have been controversies surrounding him over the POSCO steel plant and other major natural resource projects in Odisha.